Future Snowboarding catches up with Mercedes Nicoll

Posted by Ardyan-May 14, 2008 on Future Snowboarding

photo by Geoff Andruik

FSM: Mercedes, I’m sure you’ve been asked a thousand times but…Why the name Mercedes?
Mercedes Nicoll: My parents liked it, so do I.

FSM: No relation to the car then?
MN: Nada, but I want one!

FSM: What kind of car do you drive now?
MN: I love my Subaru. It’s a Forester, silver, named HI HO.

FSM: Why Hi Ho?
MN: Cause it’s silver silly. Like the horse. Hi Ho silver, from that cowboy show.

FSM: Aha…like the horse. Cute. So how’s your season been?
MN: It’s been busy. Lots of contests. Glad to be done with those!

FSM: Which contests did you hit up this year?
MN: Wow, so many it feels like. Breck Grand Prix, X Games, World Cup in Korea, Canadian World Cups, US Open, Chicken Jam, Nationals and the Viesta de la Pipa. I might have forgotten a couple.

FSM: Any other cool trips you went on this year? Besides just contest stuff?
MN: Just got back from a hut trip for The Drift! And went to Japan with the FLow boys. Antti (Autti), Tim (Humphreys), (Andrew) Mutty…there were 5 boys and me.

FSM: How was it, holding your own with 5 dudes like that?
MN: Good times. I kinda like it better. No drama.

FSM: Any party stories from Japan with the boys?
MN: No, we were too tired. It was the kind of trip that you get up at like 6 a.m., and get home at 7 p.m. Long days. But we did have the best sushi of my life!

FSM: You went to the last Olympics right?
MN: Yuppers

FSM: And are you gunning for the next Olympics?
MN: I’m gonna try. I kind of need to redeem myself. And they are in Canada…

FSM: And you are Canadian…
MN: I am, but I do spend my fair share of time in Mammoth! Some people forget. There are no more “eh’s?” in my sentences.

FSM: What does it take to make it on the Canadian National Team?
MN: Well, now they have tryouts! So anyone can try to get on the team. They consist of riding, fitness and being a good sport.

FSM: Do you have to try out for the team next year then? Or are you kind of grandfathered in?
MN: I was off the team for half of last year, cause I had a bad attitude! Everyone has to try out. They did (the tryouts) in April. Should know soon if I made it.

FSM: You got kicked off the Canadian National Team for having a bad attitude?
MN: That’s right. I didn’t read the fine print. Always read the fine print!!!

FSM: The “fine print” of your Canadian National Team contract says you must have good attitude?
MN: For the tryouts last year, it was 25% attitude.

FSM: And your attitude was salty enough that they kicked you off? You punk rockin rebel!
MN: I try!

FSM: What kind of things did you do that proced you had a bad attitude at the time of your expulsion
MN: Well, they told us to show them how we get down the mountain and it was at COP, it takes like 10 seconds to get down, so I went straight. They didn’t really like that. They wanted turns to see how we ride.

FSM: Punk Ass…what else?
MN: Um, well I didn’t really try. I figured they were looking at the years results. Again, read the fine print.

FSM: Wow. And what did it to sweet talk your way back on?
MN: I worked out for 3 months in the summer. That was the deal.

FSM: I’m shocked. Mostly because you can be one of the most upbeat and motivating girl riders I know.
MN: Not so much when it comes to the national team. Things there need to get worked out.

FSM: So you’re not a huge fan of the way things work up in Canada when it comes to snowboard government?
MN: They’re trying to get it right! I think.

FSM: Ok, we’ll wrap this up. Sponsor shout outs?
MN: Thanks to Flow, Mammoth, IS Design, Powder Room and The Source!

One comment

  1. […] All About Snowboarding wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt Mercedes Nicoll explains the reasoning behind her temporary expulsion from the Canadian National Team, riding with the Flow Team in Japan and why her car is named “Hi-Ho”…   FSM: Mercedes, I’m sure you’ve been asked a thousand times but… Why the name Mercedes? Mercedes Nicoll: My parents liked it, so do I.   FSM: No relation to the car then? MN: Nada, but I want one!   FSM: What kind of car do you drive now? MN: I love my Subaru. It’s a forester, sliver, named HI HO   FSM: W […]

Leave a Reply

