Off the Lip – Get out there and do something

It’s the best time of the year; The days are getting shorter, the air is getting colder and the amount of time left until the snow falls can be counted in weeks.

When winter does arrive, many riders will be left shredding their local hill and dreaming of riding better terrain. I know this for a fact, because I was one of these riders for a long time, but this year will be different. In a matter of a few weeks I’ll be setting sail for the mountains.

With a diploma and a graduate certificate under my belt, I’ve decided to jump the fence to see if the grass actually is greener on the other side. Except in this case the fence is the Canadian prairies, and, instead of grass, I’m looking forward to endless groomers and bottomless pow fields.

My question is this…What’s holding you back from doing the same? Even the lowliest of resort jobs pay well enough for you to be able to afford a place to stay and to be able to fill all your basic needs.

What’s the worst that could happen? Odds are (as long as you put in a full season of work) you’ll return a better snowboarder, with your bank account reading the same as it was when you left (or maybe a little lower) and with a ton of great stories. Will I see you out there this winter?

One comment

  1. Hell yeah bro,

    I need to show this post to my buddy back east who is hesitating on joining me out here… We were both exactly as you described for the past few seasons and I’m in a similar position as you – got my college diploma, but scared to death of settling down to a “real job”. If you love snowboarding as much as I do, and you clearly do, then it’d be stupid not to take this advice.

Leave a Reply

