Why I love being a snowboarder in Canada…

– I stumbled across this in my email outbox tonight. I’m pretty sure I wrote this for one of Snowboard Canada Magazine’s contests. Enjoy.

Why I love being a snowboarder in Canada…

I love that I can go to a rail jam at Glen Eden in August, and still be standing in line for half an hour to hit a box… after it starts raining.

I love that Mikey Rencz came up next to Shaun White, but didn’t sell his soul to the competition and corporate worlds.

I love that TJ Schneider has completely redefined the way we look at snowboard videos, and the outlets for riders to promote themselves.

I love that crews like the Wildcats, the Creekside Mob, and the 418 defined Canadian snowboarding in the beginning, and that crews like the Gypsy Mob, the Brothers Factory, the Greasers and Gnarcore are defining it today.

I love picking up a copy of Transworld or Snowboarder, and knowing that half of the photos will have been taken in Canada, and half of the riders will be Canadian.

I love that I can buy a copy of an Alterna, Sandbox or Brothers Factory video, and be as stoked on the riding, as I am on the riders.

I love that I can support distinctly Canadian brands like Westbeach, iFound, Endeavor and IS Eyewear.

I love that I can ride Boler in Ontario, or Big White in British Columbia, and still be just as stoked on the terrain, and the people.

I love being a snowboarder in Canada because it means I’m not a skier in Canada!

One comment

Leave a Reply

